Below are detailed maps of the Southeast Florida Reef Tract. FOFR assists the FDEP Coral Program with their oversight and management of approximately 105 miles of reefs located just offshore between Miami-Dade County (top of Biscayne National Park) north to Martin County (Port St. Lucie). β€‹The entire FL reef tract extends more than 350 miles south through the bottom of the FL Keys, making it the third largest barrier reef systems in the world!

In 2018, this large vital conservation area off the coast became legally known as the 

SE Florida Coral Reef Ecosystem Conservation Area. And in early 2021, the FL House Assembly voted to rename the area in honor of late FL Representative Kristin Jacobs​

More about the Kristin Jacobs Coral Reef Ecosystem Conservation Area

For additional info and maps, including a unique Smart Phone App that can help boaters from accidentally and potentially illegally anchoring on delicate coral reefs along SE Florida, please visit this FDEP website:​.

For comprehensive GIS reef mapping imagery, please visit the Our Floirda Reefs Marine Spatial Planning Tool at:

Take a Virtual Aerial Tour of the 100+ Mile Southeast Florida Reef Tract via the Unique Video Below

Courtesy of NSU Oceanographic Institute & National Coral Reef Institute (Brian K. Walker, Ph.D.)